Tuesday, March 01, 2011

The storySouth Million Writers Award

Great stories are being published online. The storySouth Million Writers Award for best online fiction of the year will help all internet-based journals and magazines gain exposure and attent.

The storySouth award was initiated and is organized by author and editor Jason Sanford. The story of how this award started during the time when online journals often weren't considered to be real publications by some, and is still online, here.

The current introduction to the award also shows how times have changed: "When I founded the online journal storySouth ten years ago, the literary establishment didn't believe online magazines were legitimate places to publish fiction. In fact, many of these heads-in-the-sand fools also believed that the internet was a passing fad. Now these same people are tweeting each other links to their favorite online stories. It's amazing how the literary world can change in a decade."

Rules + Timeline
The award is for any fictional short story of at least a 1,000 words first published in an online publication during 2010. To help promote online stories, the Million Writers Award accepts nominations from readers, writers, and editors (and the volunteer preliminary judges who assist with the award). There is no entry fee. For more details, visit the Rules page.

Prize"Thank to generous donations, the 2011 storySouth Million Writers Award now has over $500 in total prize money, along with a $100 gift certificate from the great people at ThinkGeek. At the moment, this means the prize money for the award breaks down as First place: $350 plus the $100 ThinkGeek gift certificate, Runner-up: $150" - Prize Money / Feb 18

Nomination Pages + Timeline
- Reader nominations can be made here: Reader nominations
- Editor nominations can be made here: Editor nominations

The deadline for nominations is March 15, 2011. The list of notable stories of the year will be released by April 1, 2011, with the top ten stories released by the first of May. Voting on the top stories of the year will last for one month after the top ten stories are released.

Link: The storySouth Million Writers Award

Related links: The Glass Woman Prize, writing initiatives + web projects

No comments:

Post a Comment